I’m very excited to report that after months of designing, prototyping and hounding karigars (local bagmakers) we finally have the first BLISS handbag. I love that this bag is shaped like a roomy work/everyday bag, but still has a fun, colourful thing going. And it fits my laptop!

This first finished prototype didn’t come out exactly the way we imagined –  we had wanted natural brown leather straps instead of black, bigger handles, cuter zips, contrasting sides, and most importantly, a delivery date closer than two months after what we had agreed upon! Nevertheless, I think our karigar – whose expertise is making laptop bags – did a good job of translating our ideas – and my childish drawings – into practice. One of the important breakthroughs we made with him was finding the perfect material for lining our cloth bags so they would be sturdy without looking cardboard-stiff – I know it sounds simple, but it was a major struggle trying to get this right with the bagmakers we tried before. So, thank you to Zahid at Annuji Leather.

Would love to hear feedback on our first bag as we do a final fine-tuning of this design.

